User Management
The User Management page has the following tabs:

My Profile

All users can access the My Profile tab to manage themselves.
There are three information cards at the top: Username shows the user's username; Accessible graph shows how many graphs the user can access, and Password allows user to change password by clicking the key icon
:
Below the cards are secret management section. You can create as many secrets for each graph as you want, but remember to copy the secret value out at the creation time. Once you refresh the page or go to another page and come back, the actual secret value will be masked for security. You need to provide an alias for the secret, and click the green plus sign to add the secret.
When token authentication is enabled, you need to use the secrets to request tokens and add the tokens in the HTTP request headers to call TigerGraph RESTful endpoints. Read more at User Access Management.

All Users

Both native users and proxy users are displayed in the User section. However, you can only change the passwords of native users.
The All Users tab displays information on all users. Only users with user or proxy groups management permission can access this tab. Users with user management permission(READ_USER, WRITE_USER privileges) can add new users, change other users' password, delete users.
Users with proxy groups management permission(READ_PROXYGROUP, WRITE_PROXYGROUP privileges) can create proxy groups, change proxy rules of the groups, and delete proxy groups. To see a list of all privileges, see List of Privileges.
  • Click the Add User button
    to add new users:
  • Click the key symbol
    in the Actions column to change other users' password:
  • Click the delete button
    in the Actions column to delete a user.
  • Click the Proxy Group tab
    to see all proxy groups:
  • Click the Add Group button
    to add new proxy groups:
  • Click the Edit button
    to edit the proxy rule of an existing proxy group:
  • Click
    to delete a proxy group.
Read more about proxy groups at LDAP.

User-defined roles

The User-defined roles tab lists all user-defined roles and allows users with sufficient privileges to create roles. Users must have the READ_ROLE privilege on at least one graph to access this tab. This section describes the procedures to create, edit, and drop roles, as well as assign roles to users in GraphStudio. To learn more about roles and privileges in TigerGraph’s role-based access control system, see User Access Management.
To create/edit/delete a role, users must also have the WRITE_ROLE privilege on that graph. See more details in Roles and Privileges.
In the right upper corner, there is a hint button
. Click the button and jump to the official roles and privileges documentation to read more about roles and privileges. All user-defined roles that you can view will list in a table:
Each row shows one role along with the privileges it contains. For global roles, all privileges on either the global level or a specific graph will be listed.

Create a user-defined role

Click
in the right upper corner to create a role. You can either choose to create a global or a local role on a graph.

Create a global role

Select
to start creating a global role. The first panel is for the global privileges, where you can select global level privileges to assign to this role.
Click the button to grant privileges on another graph
at the bottom of the pop-up window to reveal the privileges panel for local privileges. Select a graph first in the dropdown menu, then grant local privileges on that graph. You can also click the remove button
to remove the graph that you want to add privileges on.

Create a local role

Select
to start creating a local role. Select a graph in the dropdown that you want to create the role on.

Edit a user-defined role

Click the edit button
in the Actions column to open the edit pop-up. Deselect a privilege to drop it from the role and select one to add it to the role. When editing a role, you cannot change a local role to a global role, or vice versa.

Drop a role

Click the delete button in the Actions column
to drop a role.

Role Management

In the Role Management tab, users can view the role assignment of users, assign roles to users, and revoke roles from users. Users must have the READ_ROLE privilege along with the READ_USER or READ_PROXYGROUP privilege on at least one graph to access this tab.
Admin Portal does not indicate whether a user belongs a proxy group. You can find out more from GSQL client.
Admin Portal shows a combination of roles for proxy users. Proxy user which belongs to a proxy group inherits all the roles from the proxy group plus all the roles the proxy user has. Therefore, if you want to revoke a role from a proxy user, you need to revoke the role from the proxy group first. Then you might need to revoke the same role from the proxy user if the proxy user also has that role.
To assign roles, users need to have WRITE_ROLE privilege. If you only have READ_ROLE privilege, you can only view the current assignment but can not modify it.

Select a graph

You can use the dropdown menu in the top left corner to select on which graph you want to assign different roles to different users, you can either choose global to assign global roles or a specific graph to assign local roles:

Select a role

You can use the second dropdown menu to select a role that you want to assign to different users:
With global selected, you can assign all global built-in or user-defined roles. With a specific graph selected, you can assign all local built-in roles or local user-defined roles within that graph.

View role details

Next to the dropdowns, click the view role details button
to view the information on the selected role.

Search user

You can type in the search box to search for users:

Settings for users

You can sort the users by alphabetic order or number of roles they have:
You can choose to show all users, show the users who have role(s), or show the users who don't have a role:

Grant/revoke a role

On a small screen, you need to click the Manage to open the assignment panel.
Once you’ve selected a graph and a role, all users will be listed with a checkbox. You can check the box next to the user to grant the role, or uncheck to revoke the role.
After modifying your assignment, click
to save your changes. You can also discard your changes by clicking the discard button
Similarly, you can also click the proxy group button
to switch to proxy groups and manage their roles.
If you have made changes to users through GSQL after opening the user management page, click the refresh button in the top right corner to reflect the changes in Admin Portal.
Last modified 6mo ago